Alva Noto | Unieqav (2LP) [N-045]


  • €32,00
    Unit price per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Alva Noto | Unieqav
Label: Noton – N-045
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Album
Released| 15 Apr 2022

UNIEQAV is the new album by Alva Noto and latest edition in the Uni series - an outlet for his more rhythmic and dancefloor-oriented work. The Uni series began when Alva Noto was booked to play live at the club UNIT in Tokyo, and had to adapt his sound accordingly for that environment.

UNIEQAV is a continuation and development of the concept of Alva Noto's 'Unitxt' and 'Univrs' albums, and completes the third part in the trilogy, whereby each record is both unique and part of the bigger picture. This is also mirrored in the artwork for each, which when combined form a triptych spelling 'Uni'.

Described by Carsten as "sonically representing an underwater dive", the gleaming 'UNIEQAV' brings as usual an inherent artistic, conceptual and scientific depth. Mathematics, data, unit systems, grids, rhythms, codes, text, language, spoken word, DNA, science technology and nature are all utilised, for both inspiration and execution.

As with the last two Uni releases, the French sound poet Anne-James Chaton collaborates here, on 'Uni Dna'. Where on previous records Chaton first provided a vocal track to which Nicolai composed, this time the duo flipped it; the poet wrote for an existing track, adding his unique vocal approach to recite amino acids that constitute the DNA molecule.

- 2022 Repress. Comes in Gatefold sleeve.

A1    Uni Sub
A2    Uni Mia
A3    Uni Version
B1    Uni Clip
B2    Uni Normal
B3    Uni Mic A
C1    Uni Blue
C2    Uni Mic B
C3    Uni DNA
D1    Uni Edit
D2    Uni Tra
D3    Uni Chord

# Ambient # Experimental

Related Releases