Biosphere ‎| Cirque (3LP) [BIO26LP]


  • €35,00
    Unit price per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Biosphere ‎| Cirque
Label: Biophon Records ‎– BIO26LP
Format: 3 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Repress
Released| 12 Feb 2021

Cirque - originally released in 2000 - was Biosphere´s first album for the UK label Touch. This new re-issue comes with a 6-track bonus album and new artwork.

Mojo (UK): Fourth full album from ambient pioneer. Coming to prominence with 1992's Microgravity - which along with the first couple of Aphex/Polygon Window CDs, defined the genre ambient - Geir Jenssen as Biosphere has made three of the '90s' best albums, culminating with last year's near beatless Substrata. The idea - as it always was thanks to Eno's On Land - is music as environment (reflecting, creating): working from his base in Tromso, Arctic Norway, Jenssen offers a polar, Apollonian exploration of the human psyche. Cirque is a perfectly constructed 47-minute sequence: cold clarity up against real depth of field, synth cycles dissolving into sudden moments of sonic revelation that sound like a waking dream - try the first 20 seconds of Black Lamb and Grey Falcon. (And if you think that's pretentious - your loss). Inspired by the story of a young American, Chris McCandless, who walked alone into the Alaskan wilderness and perished, Cirque balances the tightrope between warmth and unease, resolving into a moon melody that leaves you a peace. What a good record! [Jon Savage].

- P+C 2016 Biophon Records.
- Cat. no. BIO26.
- All tracks written by Geir Jenssen.
- All tracks published by Sony ATV, except track 14-17 published by Biophon Records.
- Wings over High Plains. Photos by Geir Jenssen.
- Designed by Joanna John.

 A1  Nook & Cranny     
A2     Le Grand Dôme     
A3     Grandiflora     
A4     Black Lamb & Grey Falcon     
B1     Miniature Rock Dwellers     
B2     When I Leave     
B3     Iberia Eterea     
B4     Moistened & Dried     
C1     Algae & Fungi (Part 1)     
C2     Algae & Fungi (Part 2)     
C3     Too Fragile To Walk On     
D1     When I Leave (Finely Tuned Version)     
D2     Algae & Fungi (Candelaria Version)     
E1     Minuarta     
E2     Hoodoo     
F1     Slowly Etching     
F2     B9

# Experimental # Ambient # Electronica

Related Releases