Biosphere ‎| The Senja Recordings (2LP) [BIO31LP]


  • €28,00
    Unit price per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Biosphere ‎| The Senja Recordings
Label: Biophon Records ‎– BIO31LP
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album
Released| 07 Jun 2019

Geir Jenssen yields a most Biosphere of Biosphere recordings with this new album recorded on a Norwegian island within the arctic circle.

Leading on from recent years’ ‘Departed Glories’ and ‘Petrified Forest’, the 66 minute long and 17-track wide suite of ‘The Senja Recordings’ arguably amounts to the most significant Biosphere outing of this decade. Taking its title from Norway’s 2nd largest island, where it was conceived, the album features outdoor sounds and improvisations made during Jenssen’s stays between 2015-2018 and finds the artist more porous than ever to distorted, granular textures along with his trademark palette of elemental electronics. It’s essentially the artist getting closer than ever to his surroundings and cutting down the space between there and your ears.

From the sounds of it, one can only imagine Jenssen had a quietly blissful time making this record. There’s the expected darkness for sure, but it always resolves with strong pangs of isolationist melody, cropping up Conet Project-like in ’Strandby’; glowing like a dawn aurora behind a granite cliff in ‘Berg’; or harmonising with the birds and air in ‘Fjølhøgget’ and the Aeolian harp-like tones of his ‘Bergsbotn’ trio, so named after the small village facing out to harsh North Atlantic. factor in the natural yet unearthly sounds picked up by his hydrophone in ’Skålbrekka’, and the gloaming solitude of his sublime closer ‘Hå’, and you have a top class Biosphere album, if you like this sort of thing.

"The Senja Recordings" is a collection of various outdoor recordings and studio improvisations recorded on the island of Senja, Arctic Norway, between 2015 and 2018.

- Comes in a gatefold sleeve.

A1     Skålbrekka     
A2     Strandby     
A3     Bergsbotn I     
A4     Bjorvika     
B1     Berg     
B2     Kyle     
B3     Fjølhøgget     
B4     Stordjupa     
C1     Bergsbotn II     
C2     Bergsbotn III     
C3     Lysbotn
C4     Straumen     
C5     Steinfjord     
D1     Gilberg     
D2     Alteret     
D3     Geatkejávri     
D4     Hå

# Ambient # Experimental # Electronica

Related Releases