Samuel Kerridge | The I Is Nothing (12") [LINO78]


  • €11,00
    Unit price per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Samuel Kerridge | The I Is Nothing
Label: Downwards ‎– LINO78
Format: Vinyl, 12", Limited Edition
Released| 31 May 2018

Downwards return with an EP of Hardcore techno ballistics and mutant metal alloys from Kerridge, featuring vocals by Aaron Turner (Isis, Sumac, Mammifer).

The I Is Nothing marks five years of Samuel Kerridge releases on Regis’ Downwards with a dread-fuelled, nerve-stepping procession from the steaming rollige of The Silence Between Us [2017].

Balancing blank-eyed industrial torpor and dancefloor lust in four forceful designs, Kerridge firmly pushes forward with a style that owes as much to ‘90s tech-step and current minimal D&B as the Brummie deviations of Mick Harris and Karl O’Connor, or the original underground ‘80s movements of Nocturnal Emissions, Bourbonese Qualk and Muslimgauze.

The A-side wrestles with a serpentine stinger called Silent Notes, a roiling combo of EBM drums and divebombing Reese bass perhaps imagining the bastard offspring of DJ Trace and Drew McDowell’s modular synth, while Fascination Sustain strips down to a scudding sort of electro-techno IDM pressure recalling Oberman Knocks or Bitstream’s Adapta gear.

On the B-side, Isis frontman Aaron Turner infects Propagates of Desire with masochistic lyrics buried deep in Kerridge’s matrix of recoiling EBM kicks and Stuka synth drones, then Actuality Repeats stretches out in a hollowed sphere of 150bpm electro and spectralist gloom.

Mastered and cut by Matt Colton at Alchemy, edition of 500 copies.

A1  Silent Notes
A2  Fascination Sustain
B1  Propagates of Desire (Feat. Aaron Turner)
B2  Actuality Repeats

# Industrial #  Techno  # Electro # Experimental

Related Releases